Self-Care Tips for Classy Bitches

But Kelzor, I thought you were doing NaNoWriMo, said nobody, since I don’t think anyone reads this.

Yeah, World, I was, and then the Everything happened and I realized I can say no to things I don’t want to do anymore. I can say no to Anything, but sometimes saying no has Consequences. That time, it didn’t. So I said no and I am done.

Saying no is a component of self-care. Or it doesn’t have to be, since self-care is whatever works for you. It’s not giving into every whim you have, it’s not finding excuses to avoid doing things you’re supposed to do. It’s taking care of yourself so you can do the things you have to and enjoy the things you want to without this dark cloud of exhaustion hanging over you.

For a long time, I thought giving into every whim I had was self-care, because I “earned” the ice cream from being put through an emotional ordeal. Sometimes ice cream is warranted, but that’s not really how to do things effectively. I think if you practice self-care well, you don’t undermine yourself by overdoing it on the treats. Like, have treats, but don’t break the bank or destroy your cholesterol levels with them.

So, being as I am both frugal and lazy, how do I aim to practice self-care?

  1. Making sure if there is a financial component of my thing, that I can afford that thing. This means I am keeping track of everything I spend a LOT better now, so if I need to do something like pick up a bottle of nail polish so I don’t go insane, I know if it will put me in jeopardy for my future goals.
  2. Batch cooking, in addition to helping me save money, helps me from getting stuck in a cycle of constantly dirtying up the kitchen and then needing to clean it again. As such, if I just simply Cannot Do Dishes tonight, the sink probably only has a few in them, and it can wait a day. It’s more important for me to sleep, rest, socialize with my cats, whatever. They’ll get done, and nobody dies if it happens on Thursday instead of Wednesday, and especially so when there isn’t an overflowing mess adding to my stress levels.
  3. Unplugging from social media is a must, even if it’s hard. I have been listening to podcasts and playing games on my phone instead of being 100% on Twitter 100% of the time during my commutes lately, and I think I’m going to start tackling The Gilmore Girls Reading List since you can’t do that and be obsessive about Facebook at the same time unless you are really talented (I am not).
  4. If you have to stay on social media but don’t want to also watch traditional media while you do it, what about a nice movie?
  5. Doing something that can be normal and ordinary and mundane and making it very special can be nice, too. Preparing a beautiful steak dinner with fresh veggies and a nice wine – cheaper than going out, a delicious meal, and the satisfaction of making it yourself instead of having it served to you – all of those things sound really great to me.
  6. Stay connected to people you need in your lives, but also remember that it’s okay to be alone (sometimes quite satisfying), and maybe those people need to be alone, too. I would feel real crappy if my bestie got burned out hanging with me and then we stopped talking. Plus, if I am giving myself a nice bubble bath, I don’t need her around for that. We shouldn’t keep each other at arm’s length, but it’s nice to have healthy limits.
  7. Cats
  8. Doing shit for other people! It makes you feel good! A friend has been going through some garbage this year, so I’m about to send her a couple of books.

Anyway. This has been a very rough 24 hours. Get some sleep and drink some water.

 

Leave a Reply

