I hate Pinterest And Also Some Actually Topical Stuff About MONEY

PINTEREST

 

It’s the same thing over and over and over again. So are most frugal living blogs. Either you get people who live in the extremes and deprive themselves unnecessarily (e.g. the blogger who said “your kids should just suck it up and use $2 benzoyl peroxide for their acne” even thought that shit would literally peel off my skin so I had to use something gentler and costlier), or they just reuse the same tired tips (“check the ‘price per ounce’ at the grocery store, using a calculator if necessary”). So I’m about fuckin’ done reading Pinterest articles about how making your own laundry detergent is the MAGIC that will fix your goddamn life when we all know it’s much, much bigger than that.

help-me-poor

This morning, people have been sharing like NUTS this article about what you need to earn in 50 major US cities in order to live comfortably, using the 50-30-20 rule, which is what really caught my eye. I live just outside one of the major cities on that list, and make about 65% of the “needed” income to live comfortably, but that’s cool, that’s cool, because it’s cheaper where I live and I have a different definition of comfort than most people.

The 50-30-20 rule is apparently an Elizabeth Warren favorite, and basically is as follows:

  1. 50% of your income should be for necessities (billz Billz BILLZ)
  2. 30% of your income is for WHATEVER you want
  3. 20% of your income should be toward savings

I already am pretty sure more than 50% of my income goes toward necessities, and more than 20% is going toward savings currently, but this is cool.

Because it’s new. It’s not something I’d heard before.

I think I’m living comfortably? I mean, I don’t use my dryer even though it’s faster than hang-drying my clothes, primarily because I’d forget them in the dryer for like two weeks before doing my next load of laundry and noticing the dryer was still full. But it’s also cheaper. I cook 90% of my own food, and bring my lunch to work, so I don’t eat out very often at all. But that’s also a decision toward making healthier choices during the day. My bed is total crap right now, but I sleep, and I’m not in pain when I do. I have a roof over my head. I have a car that runs. How much exponential pleasure am I missing out on by not upgrading things that are working just fine right now?

Man I don’t know. Maybe I should track my budget better. Or maybe I should stop feeling guilty for the shit I buy that makes my life enjoyable.

Whatever. Pinterest sucks.

 

adult1

 

Leave a Reply

