Cheap-Ass Food #2

I swear, I swear, it’s not always going to be pasta. But I’m using it to start with when I’m figuring out how to do massive bulk-cooking-sessions, and the meals I’ve created so far do have pretty solid protein.

So here’s another pasta dish, but probz the last one for a bit.

Oh and ALSO I used a recipe without really adapting it. This is the recipe I used. I just made it bigger. And More.

Beef Stroganoff

  • 1 sweet onion
  • 2 tablespoon, Oil – Olive
  • 2 lbs ground beef, 93% Lean
  • 2 cans Cream of Mushroom Condensed Soup
  • 6 cloves Garlic
  • 1 container (450 grams ea.), Sour Cream
  • 1 container (3 3/10 cups) Petite Peas Frozen
  • 2 lb(s), Dry Pasta

The portions I did for my friend’s boyfriend (let’s give people nicknames so they don’t have to be referred to by the relationships they have to others, but fun arbitrary nicknames – he can be…. Sequoia. I just decided that. And she is obviously Furiosa) also got dosed with about a tablespoon of butter each on the pasta for additional taste and calories.

Method? So easy.

Brown some onions and then soften them with olive oil and salt. Salt isn’t mentioned in the recipe. There is some. That is the case with most cooking.

When the onions look nice and soft and like they won’t be Obvious when you’re eating the dish, brown the ground beef in the same pot with them, so the onions get cooked further. Since the meat is so lean, it doesn’t need to be drained, which is good. If you’re using beef with a higher fat content, I would drain it. It’s cheaper to buy fattier beef. But then you’re literally throwing away some of what you paid for so it’s kind of a wash. Beef could be cheaper as a whole, is what I’m saying. Revolution!

When the beef is cooked through, add the soups, add some seasoning (garlic mostly), and then add the sour cream. This is SUCH a good recipe for cooking to freeze, because you can put in your cold ingredients at the end and then transfer it to the freezer almost immediately.

Once the sour cream was in, then the bag of peas went in and they cooked ever so slightly and brought down the temperature of the dish. Pasta (shells this time) was cooked in another pot, and it was portioned with pasta, and then the Strogz on top (you can also stir it all up and whatever but this was easy since butter was a component I needed to add separately). It was so easy. And there’s a veg. AND the nutrition:

Beef Strogz.JPG

16 servings – 4 for me, 4 for Furiosa, and 4 double portions for Sequoia. (I always want to say “double potions” instead of double portions).

The taste?

Pretty great! The peas are a bit noticeable, so maybe the next time I do this I would cut that in half. I got home from a party yesterday morning and was HUNG Oh VERRRR and I heated up a dish of this and took of my pants and I felt way the fuck better immediately.

I would maybe do less sour cream next time, too. It doesn’t pack a flavor PUNCH, really, but I bet it’s going to get dosed in sriracha or something and everyone likes that, so it’s a good base for hot sauce.

tumblr_nuna8xSCta1qz6f4bo1_400.gif
DID SOMEONE SAY HOT SAUCE?

 

 

The price?

I think this one clocked in at just over a dollar a portion. Beef prices fluctuate, but most everything else is a dry good or doesn’t vary too much.

Cheap and Easy. HEY, like me!

Leave a Reply

